Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago

With the explosive development of modern society, so much is new and complex. When it comes to the topic that whether raising children is easier for parents now than 50 years ago, there are numerous arguments on both sides of the debate. For me, I agree that it is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago.

First of all, the advances in modern medicine improved children's health. With medical developments, children can get better healthcare, which makes it easy for parents to raise children. For example, my great-grandmother delivered 3 babies during 1949-1955, when the medical services are still limited. But two of her children died at a young age because of a serious disease named Hepatitis, and only my grandfather survived. However, the situation has changed now. In 2022, when my niece was born, the hospital scheduled his immunization, for example, when he was 1 month old, he was supposed to be given a Hep B vaccine, and when he was 3 months old, the hospital should give him a Hep A vaccine. These medical advancements protect him from serious diseases and get his parents less worried about his health. Thus, I agree that it is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago.

Moreover, with the advent of the Internet and social media, parents are now more informed, making raising their children much easier. Social media platforms such as Facebook or WeChat make parents exposed to different kinds of knowledge. My experience would do a stellar job explaining this point. When my son, who was born in 2022, had difficulty getting asleep, I searched on the Internet how to solve this problem, and asked my friend who had raised two kids on WeChat for advice. Through this, I learned to turn off the light in his room and put a towel beside him, and the information really helped me a lot. In contrast, parents 50 years ago did not have other information sources to refer to. Therefore, the accessibility of information indicates that it is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago.

Admittedly, there do exist some factors that may contribute to the point that raising a child has become difficult today, for instance, nowadays parents have less time to care for their children because the competition in the workplace has increased significantly in modern society. However, we have to realize that parents 50 years ago are more struggling to live than today. So, raising children now has become easier than 50 years ago.

In conclusion, based on the reasoning above, I have to maintain that it is easier for parents to raise children now than 50 years ago.