Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the year dot, knowing about our social events has been one of the most precious gifts that living together has bestowed upon human beings. However, the source of news should be reliable and true. Finding excellent sources has become a crucial issue for people, some of which are of the opinion that people should know what happens around the world, while other people believe that it is not necessary to follow the news which is unlikely to affect our daily life. I subscribe to the first group rather than the second one for quite a few reasons, two substantial ones of which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, nowadays, because of the development of technologies and improvements in communication areas, our world has become so complex, and any person can find any news about the very far distance of the world. If we consider today’s world as a complex system, we can know that our measures affect not only our near environment but also the beyond of the world. As a result, knowing about any issue is so important. For instance, polluting the air and increasing the temperature of the world are two of the most important issues which we should notice them. These phenomena affect all organisms which are living in the hum earth, and its bad consequences will threat all living creatures in the world. On the other hand, noticing only the price of goods or unimportant issues which affect the short period of our lives is not a logical choice.

Second, every one of us has a smartphone which opens us bombards of news, and a variety of sources of news open us a perspective to the accuracy of news. Thus, we are able to analyze the news in a proper manner. Most of the personal or public pages on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter, to a few but a handful present us a huge amount of information, but it is necessary to choose a proper source of news, and each news is not reliable. By criticizing the news, we can improve our knowledge about analyzing the news. Quite a few sources are not independent, and they are dependent on some political parties. The media which depend on political parties or specific people always use people’s emotional movements for their personal purposes. For instance, in every election season, most of the politicians try to establish campaigns for advertising themselves to collecting people’s elections, and they spend a huge amount of money for their goals, and it causes misleading many people. As a result, most of the news might be gossip, and it affects our personal or social lives badly. Therefore, by choosing many sources, if any source deprives us of a proper way, we can easily extract the real news.

In conclusion, by noticing the complexity of our lives and its effects, and improving our criticizing abilities, we can improve knowledge about our lives, we all know surely in a system like our world, anything affects other things, and we should broad our knowledge in personal and social lives.