Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, several important events are happening around the world. Some people suggest that we should follow the news even though it is unlikely to affect us. However, I think that we should not follow news that is not important to our lives because it is unhelpful, recorded, and time-consuming to read.

First, nothing good will happen from knowing the news. Knowing unimportant events does not provide us with any good things. Moreover, even if you recognize those situations, you cannot benefit from them. For instance, my friend always checks the political news and knows the content of every story about famous political figures. However, he cannot use this information to benefit himself because he is not working for any political parties.

Second, when news is necessary for our lives, we can just search for it and read it on the internet. Older, more important events are still recorded on several websites. When these events matter in our lives, we can easily find information about them. From my personal experience, I have no interest in political news. Nevertheless, when the election is happening, I can search for important events in the past few years in order to have enough information to make my decision.

Last, knowing all the news irrelevant to our lives is time-consuming. Some news may be important to a particular group of people but not others. For example, news about admission dates is very important for students, but not so much for working people. Furthermore, important news that is unrelated to you is abundant on the internet. If we consume all news happening around the world, it will take a very long time to do it. On the contrary, if we use that time to improve ourselves, we can definitely get something in return.

In sum, I strongly disagree that being well-versed in what is happening around the world is useful to our lives. Knowing everything does not provide any advantages for our lives and requires a lot of time. Furthermore, If we consider it important at any point in time, we can search for it on the internet and read the news about those events, but most of the events will not be important to our lives.