Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, with the development of technology, it is easy to quickly read about international news. Personally, I strongly agree with the opinion that knowing international events plays a crucial part in life. I feel this way with two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, knowing international news is beneficial for a new career. Job search consultants suggest that learning job-hunting skills from foreign countries can help get a new job more quickly. My personal experience is a compelling success of this. A few months ago, my company was suffering from some financial issues, so I decided to apply for a new job. It has always been stressful while searching for a new job. I was disappointed at the beginning because my resume was rejected by several recruiters. Luckily, since I maintain a habit of reading internal news every day, I read a news about inspiring resumes design. Consequently, I came up with an idea that I can use my computer skills to make a stunning, eye-catching resume. A few days later, a recruiter in an international company contacted me and planed an interview. The interview process went on smoothly and I was accepted by the company. If it had not been for those innovative ideas from foreign employees, I wouldn’t have found a new job within a few weeks.

Secondly, knowing about the events happening in other parts of the world ensures one’s safety. Especially for those who go abroad frequently, it is crucial to know the local circumstances of the country you are visiting. For instance, a few years ago, my brother was planning on a business trip to Thailand. Since he doesn’t read about international news quite often, he had no idea what was happening at the time. It wasn’t until a friend of his told him did he realize there were some protests against Chinese people. Thus, he rescheduled his business trip to one month later. In my opinion, if it had not been for the news from his friend, he could definitely be in danger. To some extent, the international news saved his life.

Thirdly, learning things that happened outside your country can broaden your horizon. It helps us learn more about political issues, climate change, economy growth, culture changes and even environmental protections. One interesting example is the climate change near the North Pole. The green house effect caused by global warming affected the inhabitants of polar bears. The increasing temperature causes the glaciers to melt and there was a decline on the land where the polar bears live. This phenomenon drew people's attention to environmental protections. As a result, governments in many countries introduced more policies to reduce the pollutions caused by factories. It seems that small event happens elsewhere has nothing to do with your own country, however, as demonstrated in the example, it actually affects people’s life in an unpredictable way.

In conclusion, I strongly believe knowing international news plays an important role in our life. This is because it helps us to get a better job and it avoids us from danger.