Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends.

In today's modern and sophisticated world, honesty plays a vital role in people's lives. In this connection, honesty is an essential building block of friendship. Although contested by many that the matter of being completely honest with friends is highly beneficial, such an issue is regarded as both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I concur with the notion that one should not always be honest with a friend, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

First, not being honest prevents friends from feeling angry in some circumstances. To be more specific, people will become sad if they are aware of some events happening in their life; thus, friends can help them by not mentioning that situation. According to my own experience, when I was a high school student, my classmates teased one of my best friends, which would make him upset if he realized that. When he came to a class, he understood that all pupils were laughing at something, but I did not tell him the truth when he asked reasons. By doing so, I tried not to make him shy in front of students.

Second, sometimes one cannot admire friends by telling them the complete truth, so honesty is not plus all the time. To elucidate, people should be praised for getting motivation for completing their tasks; however, by knowing the exact truth about themselves, they become discouraged. For example, my little sister is a painter, but she has a low tendency to complete her unfinished paintings recently; however, she was diligent in the past. When I asked about her feelings, she told me her friend said that her portraits are terrible; thus, she lost her interest in drawing. It would be beneficial if her friend pointed out her positive side of paintings, ever it was a lie despite blaming her by criticizing her work and mentioning the complete truth.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on each side, I profoundly believe that being completely honest with friends is harmful. Not only does a person feel dissatisfied by knowing some objects, but they also become dissuaded to follow their duty.