Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends

From all the different principles people can have in their relationship with their friends, honesty ranks near the top and plays a crucial role in building a solid relationship with others. However, despite its critical importance, people could not be completely honest with their counterparts in every situation due to some reasons, two of which will be explained in the following paragraphs.

First, there are some particular situations in all friendships which make people not be perfectly honest with their friends compulsorily. This sort of dishonesty takes place when being aware of the fact could lead to subsequent negative effects for another side in a relationship. For instance, I have a friend who is so close to me, and we always tell each other whatever happens to us due to the honesty between us. However, I have recently felt an unpleasant smell when he talks to me, and he has not been aware of this issue. According to his personality, I know if I reveal this problem to him, it will affect his confidence negatively. That is the reason why I can not be brutally honest with him about this specific issue. Therefore, it is revealed that it is not always feasible to stay completely honest with people we interact with.

Secondly, without any doubt, there are always personal secrets for each side of any friendship, which should not be exposed among them. Needless to say, everyone has had so many private drawbacks during their lifetime about their probable troubled childhood, dysfunctional family, and so forth. To be more specific, telling these sorts of facts to friends will consequently make that person feel embarrassed and change others' opinions about him/her in all friendships. For instance, a friend of mine recently revealed his family problems that originate from his father's mental health disorder, and after that, I have been feeling pity for him. Unfortunately, I guess it has affected our friendship. Hence, I think it is necessary not to tell every private and personal fact in the course of friends' interactions to maintain the required quality of all relationships.

To sum up, while some people believe that being honest in friendships is indispensable regardless of circumstances, I am of the view that it is impossible to be absolutely sincere all of the time for two main reasons: finding some reasons expedient to hide facts and the harmful effects of telling personal facts in relationships.