Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Some people prefer to make new friends than keep their old friends. They need to connect new people during their life. I think it is more rational to make new friends than to spend time with old friends. I will explain my main reasons hereunder.

The First and foremost reason is that we need a new viewpoint in our lives, and we can achieve it with a new friend who has a different view; moreover it helps us to look at an issue carefully. For example, one of my high school teachers who was teaching art, and he was not letting students speak about Richard Brautigan, who is a great and famous writer. He told us that the Brautigan was a crazy author who wrote demoniac stories, and if you read his books, you will lose your mind! Some next years, I had a professor who was working on Bruatiban's stories at university. I had to take an essential course with him. Hence, He showed me the fact of Brautigan's novels. So, at the end of the graduation, I wrote my thesis about Brautigan's books.

The second reason for making a new friend is simple and essential. The world has been changing and our lives too. We must be having a unique experience and the latest information about affairs' life. If we have a friend who has great skills or knowledge about an issue, we can easily solve our problem by his help. For instance, a trader who fails in his business was consulted with some friends that they do not have an accurate view toward all the essential aspects of a business. As a result, the friends advise him wrongly in his job. The merchant won't progress in his work unless he starts making new friends and listening to new ideas and practical solutions.

In conclusion, have a new friend enhances our view towards life and helps us to have a fresh outlook on people or events. Therefore, a new friend gives us new experiences and knowledge that save us from dangerous situations.