Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that what students are learned plays a pivotal role in their lives. While some people are in the opinion that students should learn facts in schools, others believe that the understanding of ideas and concepts is an important building block of mind development to deal with challenges. I, personally, concur with the latter view for two main reasons, on which I elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, understanding of thoughts and concepts contribute students to deal with the huge challenges they face in future lives. It is a well-known fact that people experience various difficulties and complications due to the complexity of modern life. There is not, usually, a straight forward answer in order to solve them; therefore, it seems inevitable to have a trained mind to figure out what the best solution for them is. To be more specific, when students learn concepts of a subject rather than abstract facts about it, their mind is trained to find out a possible strategy to deal with similar challenges. As the famous proverb states "history repeats itself", learning the root of historical issues will be worthwhile to prevent them from recurring in today. As a case in point, in 2008, a severe financial crisis caused a great recession in the US. In economists' opinion, some government policies were responsible to a large extent for this recession, and in order to overcome it, they scrutinized previous recessions (their causes and results) occurred in last decades. It contributes them not only to come up with an effective solution but also to avoid possible future recessions. If they only learned the abstract facts about this historical problem, it would take many years for the economy to recover to pre-crisis levels.

Furthermore, finding the base and foundation of thoughts is a building block of mental development. Mental development is a significant aspect of growth, embracing various mental abilities, including perceiving, observing, remembering, thinking, and solving problems. Hence, thinking and learning the views instead of facts improve these abilities dramatically. The findings of a detailed inquiry conducted on students indicate that those who learned the fundamental concepts of subjects have brilliant performance in their education rather than the others. They dealt with challenges and difficulties in their studies effectively, and they will be more likely to be successful in their lives. By way of illustration, consider a school located in Japan in which the education system is different basically. Instead of common courses, such as mathematics, physics, and history, students enforce to struggle with the issues and find pragmatic solutions which are beneficial for real life. For instance, for a history course, they were asked to build an agricultural farm and practice the ancient exchange system in a practical way. This assists them not only to better familiar with ancient life but also the pragmatic concept of trade.

In conclusion, in the sophisticated and modern world, learning the thoughts and views of various subjects by students has great advantages. Both dealing with huge challenges and developing minds are two main advantages of it.