Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, several pieces of research have been conducted to find the contribution of different factors in students' ability to learn. Some people believe that it is more essential for students to understand different ideas and concepts while others believe that learning facts pose a more importance. Personally speaking, I do believe that understanding ideas and concepts is more vital than learning facts. In the following essay, I will support my perspective using a couple of reasons.

To begin with, understanding new ideas and concepts is a prerequisite to learn and understand new facts. Facts were always an idea at first. Scientists find facts by understanding the different ideas and evaluating them. As a result, it is crucial for students to be capable to understand ideas. In this way, they can develop their own ideas and then evaluate it by themselves. However, if the students can not understand ideas, it is really hard for him\her to continue his\her courses in the school. According to the research that has been conducted at the University of Toronto, understanding new ideas and concepts is more than ten times more essential than understanding facts for a student to accomplish in his\her courses. This research completely reveals the high importance of understanding ideas and concepts.

Moreover, by understanding new ideas, people can challenge a fact. As we know, it is possible to the fact that to be wrong. In this circumstance, by just understanding different ideas and interpreting them an individual can challenge a fact. Knowing different facts without the ability to challenge and find the correct ideas is not a valuable skill. My own experience is a compelling reason for this issue. Ten years ago, when I was a child, there was an exam at my school that measures the students' ability in terms of understanding different ideas and facts. At that exam, my grade at the understanding fact related issues was really low. My teacher at that time told me that it would be really hard for you to finish your school period because you could not understand facts properly. In contrast, my grade at the understanding of new ideas was extremely high. Finally, I finished my school time with the highest grade among all the students in the class. This example clearly demonstrate the importance of understanding ideas and concepts and also reveals the low importance of ability to understand facts for students.

In conclusion, I do believe that it is really essential for students to understand different ideas and concepts rather than understanding facts. This is because it is the first and the most important step to understand the facts and also a person who knows about idea, can challenge any fact in the world.