Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The debate on what it is more important for students between actually understanding ideas and learning facts has been going on for decades, specially after the invention of standardized tests. I agree with the statement that it is more important for students to understand the information that is given to them rather than memorizing facts or pieces of information for three main reasons: how quickly those facts are available online, how important is to flourish their analysis capacities, and because it improves their memory.

Firstly, in the modern world we have access to internet and electronic devices that help us to easily look for information that we forgot. For example, if a psychologist forgot the exact diagnosis criteria for a mental disease he thinks a patient have, he can look it up on internet in a matter of seconds. On the contrary, if he just focused on learning those facts and not in understanding how works the mental disease he is looking for, he wouldn't be able to identify what the patient may have in the first place.

Secondly, every career require a minimum analysis capacity to get into the work field. In this sense, if a person just focus on memorizing pieces of information, their analysis capabilities is not gonna develop and, therefore, they wouldn't be able to understand and resolve complex problems and situations in their actual work. Understanding information helps people to analyze how those concepts interconnect with each other and how can they use that information to solve real work problems.

Lastly, it is known that memorizing information is less effective in the long run than understanding the ideas behind them because people tend to easily forget information that doesn't have context nor it is really understood. In order to help people remember facts, it's needed to connect the information with previous knowledge and ideas. Likewise, if people doesn't comprehend how and why it is important the information that is given to them, they are more prone to forget it in the future.

In conclusion, I do think it is more relevant for students to understand what it is taught to them than memorizing specific facts because that information is available online, it is more possible that they could develop their analysis capacities, and it improves people's memory in the long run.