Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Nowadays countries progress at a very high pace and compete with each other. There are several things that play an important role in the development of the country. Governments try to improve facilities and laws in order to make society a better and greater place to live. Improving facilities like transportation, the Internet, and medical health are some of the things that get a lot of attention. There is a big debate about whether it is more important for governments to spend money to improve internet access or to improve public transportation. In my opinion, I agree and believe it is more significant to improve Internet access. In this essay, I am going to explain three potential reasons to support my idea.

First of all, public transportation already improved enough, but for internet access, there is room for growth. Public transportation has been going on for many years and the government spent a lot on those projects and it is advanced enough to meet our needs. On the other hand, the internet just merged into our lives a few decades ago. While everyone has access to public transportation, so many people in further regions do not have an access to the internet or have a very poor connection through it. Therefore, spending money on increasing internet access for everyone is logical.

Secondly, in modern societies, everything is going to depend on the internet. With the growth of the internet, most governments try to maximize the usage of the internet. Modern countries transferring paper works on the internet platform to decrease costs and save time. For example, about 5 or 6 years ago people have to go to the bank and do various things like purchasing bills, rents. But now you can just open the bank application and do everything with just one click without going anywhere. So, as the internet improves, it will have lots of advantages for people and also governments.

Finally, in my opinion, the growth of the Internet causes the growth of society. As I mentioned in the second reason, every modern society using the internet in every aspect. The semi-modern countries which do not have access to valuable sources for example in education can be in touch with them through the internet. The Internet makes everything in access in virtual form. For instance, I live in Iran and I can participate in valuable courses, seminars that popular professors hold. Since the internet came into our lives and available to use, now I am able to learn many new and update things.

To sum up, as I mentioned above, it is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. There are a lot of advantages, I just talked about three of them which I think were the important ones.