Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Government funds should be devoted to improving society. Many areas are in need of government investments, such as public transportation and internet access. Whereas some people believed that funds should be contributed to promoting Internet access, others argued that public transportation should be the first choice. Personally, I agree with the former one. I justify my opinion for two reasons which I will examine in the essay.

To begin with, students rely on the internet to have classes. Obviously, face-to-face classes are impossible to hold during pandemics like Coronavirus. In fact, a large proportion of schools use virtual classes to teach, which rely heavily on the internet connection. If there’s no available network, students are unable to have classes during pandemics. For instance, after my city got severely impacted by the virus, my school swiftly switched to teaching online classes. Each teacher had a special meeting number, and students were asked to join the meeting. Thanks to the online meeting, enabling us to learn new content in a virtual way. This technology depends on the internet connection speed heavily, and I can’t imagine how students’ daily life will change without access to the internet.

Moreover, there are many job opportunities posted on the internet. For people who are unemployed, there is a pool of job resources online. People who are searching for jobs can easily find their ideal job on the internet, because of the massive amount of jobs listed online, and the filter function that job websites provided makes the process of job searching even more efficient. This can be demonstrated by my cousin Danny, a graduate student in need of a job relating to Chemistry. After Danny graduated from college, he tried several methods of job finding, including looking for jobs in the newspaper and asking friends and professors, however, he didn’t find the opportunity he dreamed of. Then, he went online and searched for keywords like “Chemistry Job”, and there were a bunch of career opportunities listed on the webpage. Consequently, Danny took a job vacancy in a Chemistry lab on the internet. Evidently, the network was far easier in helping Danny to be employed. If there were no available internet, it would take Danny a great amount of time to search for jobs in newspapers.

Admittedly, public transportation is also crucial for our daily life, but the advantages of the network, including online teaching and job searching, outweighed the benefits that transportation brought to us.

In a nutshell, I am of the opinion that government should invest in network accessibility since it enables students to learn virtually and ease people’s searching for jobs.