Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

Government funds should be devoted to improve of the society. Many areas are in need of government investments, such as public transportation and internet access. Whereas some people believed that funds should be contributed to promote Internet access, others argued that public transportation should be the first choice. Personally, I agree with the former one. I justify my opinion for two reasons which I will examine in the essay.

To begin with, students rely on internet to have classes. Obviously, face-to-face classes are impossible to held during pandemic like Coronavirus. In fact, a large proportion of schools uses virtual classes to teach, which rely heavily on the internet connection. If there’s no available network, students are unable to have classes during pandemics. For instance, after my city got severely impacted by the virus, my school swiftly switched to teach online classes. Each teacher had a special meeting number, and students were asked to join the meeting. Thanks to the online meeting, enabling us to learn new contents in a virtual way. This technology depends on the internet connection speed heavily, and I can’t imagine how students’ daily life will change without the access to internet.

Moreover, there are many job opportunities posted on the internet. For people who are unemployed, there is a pool of job resources online. People who are searching for jobs can easily find their ideal job from the internet, because of the massive amount of jobs listed online, and the filter function that job websites provided makes the process of job searching even more efficient. This can be demonstrated by my cousin Danny, who was a graduate student in the need of a job relating to Chemistry. After Danny graduated from college, he tried several methods of job finding, including looking for jobs on the newspaper, asking friends and professors, however, he didn’t find the opportunity he dreamed. Then, he went online and searched for key words like “Chemistry Job”, and there were a bunch of career opportunities listed on the webpage. Consequently, Danny took a job vacancy of a Chemistry lab from the internet. Evidently, the network was far more easier in helping Danny to be employed. If there were no available internet, it would take Danny great amount of time to search for jobs in newspapers.

Admittedly, public transportation is also crucial for our daily life, but the advantages of network, including online teaching and job searching, outweighed the benefits that transportation brought to us.

In a nutshell, I am of the opinion that government should invest in network accessibility since it enables students to learn virtually, and ease people’s searching for jobs.