Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The education is an integral part of the progress of any society. Some people would argue that it is crucial that students deeply understand the ideas and concepts rather than to learn facts, while others may consider the opposite point of view. in my opinion, students should focus on understanding the concepts instead of just memorizing the facts. I will explore the reason for my stance in the following lines.

To begin with, the comprehension of concepts and ideas creates more skillful individuals and improves the quality of the education process. The goal of any learning is not just to know the abstract facts, but its aim is delve deeply in the topics and understand every aspect of it. Facts and theories can be forgotten, however, the skills and understanding are engraved in our minds. In other words, if you memorize only some theories or lines, but you did not develop critical thinking skills that enable you to adapt and deal with many situations and problems, you gained nothing from your education. For instance, in some low-reputation colleges, all their requirement is to retain some theoretical information without having deep understanding of the basics of the topics, which in turn resulted in the poor-quality graduates that we meet in the society today.

Furthermore, the real work environment requires resourceful persons who possess a profound understanding of all aspects of the tasks. In this highly competitive world, every one should exert the maximum effort to polish his or her skills and talents. Only a professional individual can win in this hectic world that considers only people who are highly professional and imaginative. For instance, I have read an article about how google hires its employees and how they examine their creativity and talent. They put those applicants under hypothetical work situation that needs a lot of creativity and unique thinking. Only those persons who can think outside the box would manage to succeed in this test. That is a vivid example of how we need to pay more attention to the comprehension of concepts and ideas.

In conclusion, I believe that building deep understanding of the ideas and concepts is essential part of any successful educational process. This due to the fact that it will help you to be more creative, imaginative and it will enhance your chances of wining your dream job.