Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it’s better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a good sense of humor?

It is indisputable that friends play an important role in our life. Today, a heated debate have been brought up about whether making friends with one who hold higher intelligent is more beneficial than one who is humorous. The answer differs considerably from individual to individual. As far as I am concerned, I agree that smarter friends can bring more positive impact on one more. My argument for this point is listed as follows.

To start with, the people who we get along with will greatly influence us on our fields of study, on our perspective, and even on our behavior. Just as an old Chinese adage goes, "one who stay near vermilion gets stained red; one who stay near ink gets stained black". Take my own experience for an example, when I was a freshman in school, my friends all hold similar interest in basketball. All day long, our topic is always surrounded with basketball, we discuss our favorite players and spend a lot of time on investing sport lottery. However, as time goes by, I met some new friends in a workshop that were outstanding in design field, and as a desgin major, they really inspired me with their talented works. From that day on, basketball is not the core of my life anymore, I wanted to focus more on design and dig into deeper knowledge about this field.

In addition, friends that are smart and hard working are the ones who are mostly likely to be successful in the future. With close relationship with these successful friend ,it can one day benefit us in a variety of ways. My dad is businessman, he always told me that a good relationship and a broad network is the key to success. At first, I did not know what he meant, in my mind I was thinking that hard working and mastering skill should be the main reason. But at the time I entered the career, I figured out what that sentence meant, without a good connection with big names, even if you are very talented, the percentage of raising up in the market is relatively low. The competion today is too fierce, we need friends in different fields supporting each others when one is in need to have a better chance to chase after the ultimate goal.

Admittedly, everything has two sides and friends that hold humorous characteristic can relief our stress in some ways. For instance, young adults now usually hold a lot of pressure on their shoulders, since they want to shine among all. With friends that have a good sense of humor, they can definitely bring us joy. However, making intellegent friends that can increase your abilities and opportunities to success can also bring us happiness. Not to mention that many successful people around me are all quite humorous too.

All in all, taking into account of these factors, although humorous and funny characteristic are essential, they can not outweigh the benefits brought from friends that are smart. That is not to say that other opinions are totally out of merits. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.