Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on young people.

Television and movies have a very large place in our lives. Even many people schedule their daily lives according to broadcast stream of some channels. In think, watching TV/movies so much is the main reason of our laziness and in my view they have more negative effects than positive effects. My opinion is based on personal social and psychological reasons.

Personally, I can definitely see the change in myself which dissatisfy me. I used to read more books and spear more time to myself. But now, the first thing is to open the TV or watch a movie when I come from work or before go to sleep. Sometimes I sacrifice from my sleep to watch another episode of a series. Moreover, because of the lack of sleep I can not work efficiently and I always feel tired. Worse, I can not focus on the things that I do during the day such as studying, reading and even sometimes chatting. Furthermore, now it is more difficult for me to understand some documents/paper and so on since my head is full with unimportant TV nonsense.

Socially, the things that I am observed on me is valid for the others. Also, the TV programs and movies have a terrible effect on people especially the younger ones. Teenagers and children are affected from the TV series and they become wannabes. These wannabes are suppose to be our future however, because of the TV/film sector it is ruined. Besides of the young generation, this sector badly affected adults as well. Why? Because no one talks while watching something, after that everyone gets tired and sleep. This vicious cycle is the main reason of miscommunication. Hence, people gets lonely in their homes.

Psychologically, the themes of the movies/series are mostly based on violence, war, fight and so on. Watching these kinds of programs everyday can harm our mentality and psychology particularly the younger people. Additionally, TV programs looks these bad things good by using cheerful music or something else. This could be very dangerous since sometimes young people is not able to know right from wrong. Also, TV and movies are a way to manipulate people. In many different periods, people made believe or support some ideas and in time they started to be against the ideas they were defending before. Thus, we need to watch less but read more to have a right and strong opinions.

In a nutshell, TV and movies have more negative effects than we thought so it is urgent to minimize its place in our lives.