Do you agree or disagree with following statement? A new teaching method, professor record a video in advance for students to learn, class time used to answer questions and have discussions. Is it an effective method?

Living in a modern world, it’s impossible for us to have no electronic products. With the appearance of them, especially in the business world, electronic products help us improve our efficiency. Nevertheless, not only is the innovation needed in the business industry, but also the education. Some professors prefer recording a previous video first, while the ordinary class time will be transformed to discuss questions. In my opinion, it maybe not as good as we expected. My following statements will give you the answer.

Firstly, recorded video cannot gurantee that students will have the same efficiency as they do in the ordinary classrooms. That’s because when we are at home, we can study in our most comfortable way. For instance, I can take my experience as an example. In my last summer break, my friends and I decided to take an online course about programming. During that period, we don’t need to dress up formally to meet school’s demands. Instead, we can wear our pyjamas and sit on the soft sofa with delicious snacks in our left hands. By no means, it is hard for us to keep fully concentrated on the lectures. Because of the convenience of the online course, we don’t have the anxious emotion about the due any more. At the end of the course, we still didn’t have a clear framework about programming.

Secondly, it’s not a good way for professors to realize the accurate level of their students are at. When we are in a traditional classroom, instant communication and feedback play an important role in the class. When we are having a physics class and the thesis is truly hard to grasp, it needs professors to repeat it again and again patiently. Meanwhile, experienced professors can adjust their teaching plans smoothly. Besides, it also enables them to realize whether they have express their whole feelings. While, if we only have the videos and discussion on the classroom, whether we have met professors’ demands is hard to be proved. Day by day, some students may have trouble in some natural subjects and they may fail in that.

Admittedly, the recorded videos can be seen for many times. While, when it comes to the study, the proficiency in knowledge is more important than the convenience in learning.

Anyway, recorded video is a good way to help us study, but it shouldn’t be the only way and it cannot replace the traditional lecture. We should use it in a moderate way.