Do you agree or Disagree with the following Statement? Nowadays, young people do Not give enough Time to Helping Their Communities. Use specific examples and Reasons to Support your answer.

In my opinion, I agree with the statement that young people today are not contributing enough to helping their communities. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, the time constraints that pressure the youth to focus on improving their own skills rather than volunteering is a major factor in this issue. In the past, people had more free time after their full-time job or school and they were able to give a hand in a social activity around their neighbourhood. However, nowadays, with the rise of automation and the huge losses in the number of jobs that require little or no skills such as factory and manufacturing jobs, young people are trying to make use of every single moment to acquire a new skill or hone another to be more competitive in the future. This race to guarantee an adequate position consumes youngsters' time and energy and hence, they end up with no time left to offer help for their society.

Secondly, the willingness of young people to participate in unpaid work has been weakened since most companies no longer recognize these activities as something positive. Instead, most organizations now would opt for whoever would do the assigned tasks best. In addition, financial obligations, such as rent and education loans, demand most students to at least work a part-time job if not a full-time one, which makes it extremely hard for them to provide some of their spare time to developing their community. Moreover, new technologies like smartphones and other devices are so tempting to young people that they are not able to put it aside and go for a public park cleaning event, for example. As a result, youngsters would prefer to have an online conversation with a friend or even play a game or any other entertaining activity in their leisure time, if they have any, than to devote any hours to assist in their community.

To sum up, I am with the view that the youth in the modern era are not giving some of their time to helping their local community. This is mainly due to the fact that young people today have more on their plates than ever before and most of the time, they would choose to invest their time to better themselves.