Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only movies that can teach us something about real life is worth watching

It is no secret that, movie companies play a pivotal role in the GDP of each country due to numerous spectators who follow the movies which produced by these companies. In this regard, there is an inevitable question which has always caused heated debate among the audiences which is which movies are worth watching and which are not worth it. A plethora of people possess the conviction that people should not watch movies that won't learn something about life from them while others look at this concept through a different lens. I, nonetheless, assert the contention that it is not important to watch movies so as to learn something carries more weight. In what follows my self-evident rationales will cogently substantiate this perspective.

One of the primary reasons striking my mind is people tend to watch movies in order to spend their free time, feel free from their hectic lives. An empirical study in the psychology department of the University of Tehran indicates that approximately 78% of employees watch movies, no matter what it is, when they are back to their home from work to lessen their stress and rest for some hours. So do I. By way of example, after I finish a hard exam which I study hard for it I prefer to watch a comedy movie either at home or a cinema so as to forget about the adversities that I passed.

Another equally important reason is that although some movies do not directly teach us about the actual life, they could indirectly affect each person’s subconscious. For example, movies about wars or the results of wars have indirect messages. When people watch these kinds of films, they will be disgusted by consequence of wars. Hence people will avoid having wars. As a consequence, we will have a society which prefers peace instead of war. This means that if a government decides to invade other country people will protest against it to prevent the government from doing it.

The last but not the least reason is that movies as an example science-fiction genre help one grows his imagination. A Higher level of imagination help people to be creative; thus, be more successful in their life. To illustrate my point of view I can mention a movie like Interstellar in which the producer is trying to show space, wormhole, black hole and the efforts to save humanity in the future. If one watches this film, undoubtedly, he would imagine black hole furthermore he would think what would happen in this area. Maybe it would lead him to continue his education in this field if he had not chosen his major or maybe if the person is an artist the movie will provide some inspiration for him. Or at least could give him a chance to improve his imagination by picturing black hole and so on.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned into account, it can be concluded that In some cases, I recommend that people watch movies which have no lesson for real life. However, that was the story in a nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and examples, supporting the claim which are not mentioned above. All in all, it is suggested that a survey be conducted to find out more information about this issue.