Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific
reasons and examples to support your answer.
Obviously, in most cases the earliest teachers people have are their parents, and parents are generally most
concerned about the development of their children. However, it is not completely true to say that parents are the
best teachers.
First of all, not all parents are good teachers. As normal individuals, some parents more or less have some
bad habits. Even though parents almost instinctively devote themselves to cultivating their offspring, the outcome
might turn out to be disappointment, for all children tend to unconsciously or subconsciously copy everything
including bad ones from their parents. Another deficiency of parents as teachers is the fact that most parents are
lack of common senses of education. All too often we observe some parents tend to pursue their cherished but
failed dream by forcing their children to develop in a prearranged direction. Ironically, when their children do not
follow the instructions, the children will be regarded as disobedient or allegedly rebellious. In fact, it is parents
rather than their children that virtually disobey common senses.
Moreover, some parents are qualified as good teachers, but not all of them are the best ones. When children
are in the preliminary school, it is not surprising that parents are perhaps capable of teaching their children almost
every subject even better than professional teachers in the school. But the situation will not last long. We live in a
world where knowledge is accumulated by multiplying and at the same time becomes more and more specialized.
Therefore, to be a professional in a certain field today takes much longer time than has ever been before. No
parent is able to be professional in all fields, though they might be experts in one or more fields. Wise parents
often release rather than charge their children as early as possible. They are aware of the possibility outside the
family.
Parents may, nevertheless, help their children much more than do good teachers. Most parts of children
education are virtually beyond teachers' reaches. It is parents that supplement. Psychology studies have shown us
that parents' love sometimes has astonishingly magic power to their children. Albeit Einstein's mother and that of
Forest Gump are both good examples. On the other hand, parents might do their children harm more than do bad
teachers as well. The natures of those children whose parents have divorced are often severely distorted. In a
word, it is rather superficial to simply say that parents are the best teachers.