Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making decisions plays a pivotal role in young people's lifetime, which may influence far-reaching in their future. It has triggered the debated issue as to who should young people in different eras make decisions depended on. My view is that today young people relative possibly make decisions by themselves than people in the past. More reasons and examples might be shed light on as follows.

First and foremost, nowadays young people can acquire innumerable information in a short time so that they can make decisions by themselves. For instance, when I chose what professional department in the college, I can easily search the Internet to find the website of each department’s introduction and recommendations from other people. On other hand, parents’ suggestions play less essential in children’s decisions because they might not know as much as the information found on the Internet. However, it is hard for young people in the past to collect much information, which results in the suggestion of parents have a vital impact on children’s decisions.

Second, young people today have got more freedom from their parents and society, which induces them to pursue their decisions. It is because that the atmosphere recently encourages young people to determine the path by themselves, while in the past young people were forced to comply with the advice from parents. Moreover, young people today who make decisions by themselves are seen as independent and responsible people; on the other side, own-decision-making young people were considered as disrespectful and unfilial people. Take my own experience as an example, my brother decides to learn in the commercial department which is hard to find a job, but my parents encourage him to insist his interest; however, when my father still was a student, he also wanted to study commercial, which was contradicted with my grandmother’s opinion, and they had some disputes until my father comprised.

Last but not least, money is an essential role in making own decisions, and young people in the past had less money. If young people want to conduct every action by themselves, it is undoubted that their parents’ assistance is indispensable, which is hardly seen in the older generation. Thus, they should turn into following their parents’ advice to schedule their life. For instance, my uncle expected to study abroad for his bachelor’s degree, but my grandfather had no money to afford his school’s tuition. Hence, they chose to study in a normal university that does not need tuition and has an extra allowance.

In conclusion, young people in the past decades had to make decisions by their parents' suggestions, while nowadays are able to determine by themselves. Information searching, freedom from society and parents and money have influence deeply whether young people can make decisions on their own.