Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are happier when they give away extra money to charity or a good cause rather than when they spend it on themselves.

Regarding the attitude of how to use the extra money, answers can vary drastically depending on one's background and personality. Some people choose to donate the money to charity, while others rather spend it on themselves. Personally, I do not think that making charity makes me happier, and I will explain why I stand this viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, I enjoy buying things. Maybe the reason sounds shallow, but I believe many people have the same opinion. To suffer the difficult life, I often buy the product which is not necessary to reward myself. For example, at the end of month, if I have already paid all the bills and saved some money, I will go to the department store or browse the shopping website to purchase a product I want, in order to relieve myself and forget the stress from working. Hence, spending money on myself is good to my mental health.

Furthermore, except for buying products, traveling to other place if I have extra money also cheers me. Going to a trip, I can shortly escape my life and experience something new. For instance, I usually go on small trip in my leisure time to enjoy the laid-back atmosphere and leave all the task behind. If I spend my money on charity, I am unable to relax during my holiday. Hence, it certainly will not make me happier.

Lastly, giving money to charity fulfill a sense of good feeling of doing right things. Nevertheless, I do not believe I am supposed to feel guilty if I choose not to donate the money. Limit money do I earn, I do not have the ability to show my kindness by spending money. Instead, I would rather just to do some volunteer work to increase the social benefit because I will be grieved deeply if lacking money.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that comparing to donate money, using money on myself makes me happier. It is because I need some products or events to relax myself, and it all require money. Moreover, not a sense of satisfaction but a sense of sadness I will I gain from giving money to charity.