Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This question presents an arbitrary choice regarding the form of friendship. Some people incline to build a long-lasting friendship with small number of people while some tend to build a wide-spreading one with various and numerous people. As far as I am concerned, my own preference and experience have led me to conclude that sustain a consistent friendship with a group of people makes me happier.

To begin with, hanging out with friends I am familiar with relieve myself more, since we realize the personality and emotion of each other. By contrast, every time going out with the friend I know recently, I am afraid of saying something improper or behave something rude for him. As a result, I enjoy getting along with acquaint friend more.

Furthermore, the less time the relationship cost, the more likely that this relationship will break. In most of time, it is not because we fight or argue with each other, we may just lose the connection. Despite the truth that it recurred every time I started a new step of my life, such as the graduation, it made me grieve deeply when I notice I lose connection with someone. Consequently, I personally prefer the make relationship with few people, which I can sustain, in order to avoid the sorrow I have suffered.

Finally, intimate friendship with others is essential for me, for I consider that to be a friend of all is to be a friend of none. If no one is close to me, the loneliness will haunt around me. Owing to this, I often contact with the friends who I may not be acquaint actively, hoping we can build a more intimate friendship. The more easily a friendship can lose without connection, the more I value my friends. As a result, it indicates that a friendship over a long period of time is more suitable for me.

Given the reasons above, I firmly believe that maintaining the friendship with small number of people contributes more happiness for me. This is not to say the opposite choice is without merits, for example, you can know different kinds of people. However, I believe I have substantiated reason to support my point of view.