Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in the past are more interested in improving their neighborhood (the area where they live)

Neighborhood as a part of the social network, while nowadays its portion in the social interaction has a significant change. Personally, people in the past were more likely to strengthen and improve their neighborhood than people in today because of the social circumstance, technology, and building structure.

First of all, in the past, the social environment brought people a simple lifestyle, resulting in their limited exposure to a broad social network. During 50s-70s in China, the most common transportation was bike, most people were usually walking; since the train and airplane were not affordable and convenient, people took public bus only if they needed to go to a distant city. Thus, a family was living with their relatives closely or in the same neighborhood; with the inaccessible transportation, people contacted with nearby neighborhood instead of other distant areas. Different from the past, people now have more chance to develop their social network. Indeed, fast-paced life let people engage in their job, education, and future design, so they do not have more flexible time for improving the neighborhood. Also, gradually increased economy brings people more business chances, leading them to spend more time to establish various and necessary social connection but not focus on the additional association with the neighborhood.

Additionally, devoid of technologic development, people were focusing more on improving the neighborhood. During 50s-70s, not everyone has a telephone at home, not mention to possess a cell phone, so it is hard for them to keep in touch with someone who lived far away. Also, some community or neighborhood was sharing one or two television. Thus, people who live in the same community have more chance to get gather, exchanging ideas, informing each other about news or several pieces of information. On the other hand, besides the fast-paced lifestyle, enveloping in various types of advanced technology – internet, smartphone and social media has changed the way how people develop social connection. Compare to find a suitable time to meet neighbors, using these technologies are more efficient for people to build social network. As a result, they do not limit in improving neighborhood anymore.

Furthermore, with the compact habitation structure in the past, improving neighborhood was easier than current society. Take Beijing for example, the most common type of house structure was courtyard, named “si he yuan.” Generally, five to six family lived in one courtyard. They interacted with each other every day. However, currently, the modern houses are more private, people go to work in the morning and go back home at night, even living in the same building, they rarely have a chance to get together with their neighbors.

In conclusion, because of the different time, availability of technology, and modern construction, people in the today are not likely interested in improving neighborhood than people in the past.