Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

These days, people have various types of concerns in their life. Someones think people spend most of their time on personal enjoyments without paying enough attention to their duties. In contrast, in my opinion, people are often trying for their jobs and the different roles that they have in society. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, in sophisticated modern life people follow their professional goals, and majority of the time they leave their hometown in search of a better career or gain a highly qualified education. So, this situation forces them to be independent of their family and friends who they are far from now . Actually, they have a lot of duties for doing themselves without any help. For instance, my older sister and her family were living with us last year and my mother assisted her in caring for her children. Then my sister was free for going out with her friend but now her family has relocated to another city for a better job and she has to keep her children because my mother is not with her and she cannot do some personal enjoyments.

Besides, nowadays people work a lot and they don’t have enough time for their interests because they are frequently competing for their professions and other positions in society. We can witness this situation by seeing their lifestyles. Consuming junk foods and shopping online show us that they have not enough time like as our parent had in the past. For example, I love to know and study art history. So I want to visit all the galleries and museums in my city. But in the last two years, I have not had enough time for that. Because I am a busy engineer and my responsibilities require me to work longer and longer hours even my weekends.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people spend most of their time on their work and serious tasks. This is because usually, they have many works to do. Also, their job’s concerns don’t let them find free time for their personal entertainment.