Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People who cannot accept criticism from others cannot be successful at working in a group

Nowadays, our society treasures cooperation. With the pervasiveness of working in a group has, it is unavoidable that some criticism will stem from interpersonal interactions among group members. Some people reckon that people who are not open-minded enough to accept criticism will not succeed. As far as I am concerned, I definitely concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, people who cannot accept criticism will enormously undermine productivity and working efficiency of the whole group. As a matter of fact, everyone in a group is interrelated and group members are just like different components of an engine. If one part does not function well, the whole engine will suddenly break down and even collapse. When someone makes mistakes in work but refuses to make up for them, he will significantly pose threat to the productivity of the whole group, delaying others' work and even leading to terrible outcomes that cannot be compensated with ease. For example, in the last semester, I participated in a research competition about hotel management. One of my group members always used the wrong equations and methods to allocate resources and money for our management model. Meanwhile, he always ignored our advice and cause us to get a wrong answer. We finally failed in that competition.

In addition, it is of vital importance for group leaders to open their minds to listen to others' criticism. Sometimes, leaders are overweening and cannot see the whole picture since they are always required to think about the abstract strategy instead of details, leading to some mistakes that they even didn't notice. If they accept the criticism from the followers, they are capable of making full use of the power and perspectives of everyone in the group and gaining more trust from them. Only in this way can they efficiently find the crux of problems that the group is facing and improve the morale of the whole group. It is investigated that if a leader values employees' voicing behaviors and creates a harmonious atmosphere for criticizing, the employees will have more trust in their leader and perform better.

Admittedly, there are always some legends that someone who didn’t mind others’ comments and kept in his mind eventually succeeded. And sometimes, truth is in hands of only a few. However, it is advisable for us to realize that criticism at most times will not exert detrimental effects on our life and work but is just a kind reminder to improve our ability and prohibit us from going further in the wrong way.

In a nutshell, I believe that on no account should we become narrow-minded under the circumstances that others point out our weaknesses and criticize what we did wrong. Accepting criticism enables us to obtain more attainments and constitute a steppingstone for the future development of our group and ourselves.