Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

A glance at people’s attitude toward success brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether focusing on one skill lead us to achieve our goals or obtaining various skillsets. Although most of my colleagues believe that specialization in one field has a better chance of success, I, as a graduate business student, assert that today, without understanding different subjects, a person cannot be competent and well-known in science and technology majors.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that nobody can draw borders around sciences’ topics and make them separate from each other. To be more specific, despite different names, the world of physics is not distinct from mathematics, so we cannot comprehend physics concepts without contemplating math equations thoroughly. All universities require students to take various courses to equip students with the most recent knowledge and information, which ensures their success. Therefore, it is a better method to learn as much as possible, regardless of the topic.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that the future world is unknown to everybody and nobody can predict which major will become popular in the next 20 years. A decade ago, scientists thought optic and molecular technology could change the face of the world, so most students worked hard to get admission from top-ranked universities and get a decent academic job, while now, it is crystal clear that most companies hire applicants who are experts at computer science and business. If a person wants to prepare himself for unpredictable situations, it is critical to gain information about different subjects rather than one. Hence, successful people are ready to increase their knowledge in diverse areas.

Admittedly, if a person wants to be proficient in one field, he must allocate most of his time to it, without changing his major frequently. However, it does not mean the person must not learn new ideas and broaden his horizon. Bill Gates, who established Microsoft company, which is a reputable business in the computer field, always mentions this notion that for being successful, 70% of your time should be spent on your specialized major, and the rest must be devoted to other related subjects. In fact, neither sacrifice your first major, nor the related topics, and set priority for yourself.

Due to the aforementioned argument in the previous statements, I highly recommend students to take various courses and learn all of them perfectly to get good outcomes. If they want to find their dream jobs, they should be aware that knowledge is a weapon.