Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the worldwide expansion of the digital media, it is harder day after day to separate human societies from this great advantage of modernism. It is affecting all the ages and characteristics with various tastes gradually by it's mesmerizing visual features. One of ethnic groups which was deceived by this new technology in the past decade was children. They get used to play computer games a lot every day. This brings this controversial question among parents that whether children should be allowed to play computer games or not. I strongly contend that this action should be prohibited because of three main reasons. I will vindicate my standpoint in the following article.

First, playing computer can have long term effects physical effects in children's anatomy. It can start weakening the eyesight after 2 years of constant play by two or three numbers. And also it can make permanent changes in the skeleton, like muscle spasms and bones weakening. The main effects of this category are neckaches and backaches.

Second, computer games suck nealy all the available energy in children and gives back nothing noticeable in reward. Children who play computer proved to be more depressed and lazy in comparison with ones who don't play computer games. Most of the time it can be caused from the lack of energy for doing outdoor activities. Also computer games can lead children toward a sedentary life style. By playing computer games over and over, children start to lose their interest toward outdoor and social activities and combined with the lack of energy issue, this can turn them into couch potatoes permanently.

Last but not least, from psychological perspective, playing too much computer games categorizes as a kind of addiction which has an approximate equal intensity to alchohol addiction. Most of the psychologists community in the U.S and Canada contend that computer games addiction is a mental disease and it should be prevented rather than cured. So they established an experimental program worldwide to examine the intensity and number of this kind of addiction among the children all over the world. The results are surprising: Over 80 percent of children who play computer games for approximately 1 hour are addicted to this activity by the intensity of 7/10. And this shows that its a world wide phenomenon and it should be cured globally.

To wrap it up, if we want to witness a healthy upcoming generation with enough motivation to participate in social life activities and has no depressions, we should start prohibiting computer games for children from now.