Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People often may debate this argument. It is not easy to agree or disagree with this statement without considering the good reasons for the choice. Some people may claim that computer games are spoiling the children and are wastage of their precious time; others may say that playing on computers is helpful in developing technical skills in children. I personally, agree with the statement that spending time on computer games is not worth it. My decision is based on the following reasons.

To begin with, excessive use of computers for playing games makes the students addicted and can limit the learning skills and create dependency as students start to consider the computer as the most authentic tool for studies. As it offers diverse helpful tools like spelling checker or autocorrects, etc which are very obliging. But if one becomes too reliant on these tools, one may be helpless when the computers are not available. My own life is a compelling example of this when I was a sophomore student at the dental school. I was badly relying on computers for each and every task as a result when it comes to the performance in exams I failed badly with the worst grades. Since then, I start using the computer for only limited stuff and started following books for studies and as a result I improved my grades in the next classes.

Secondly, students spend a lot of time playing games on computers sitting for long times. As too much of anything is bad and too much sitting for long times and becoming a mouse potato can lead to health problems. My brother is a perfect example of this. A few years back when the 3D game called "The Grand Theft" was launched to the market he was spending 10-12 hours playing that game ignoring all other activities and as a result, in a few months, he started having problems with small joints of his hands and eye strain. When we got his checkup done he was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome. In addition to this, there was a significant decrease in his performance in class.

Furthermore, to uphold my claim and make it more valid, I will consider the counter-argument too, and then refute it. So, no one can rebuff that Computers are an integral part of human life these days as they have many advantages like it is a great source of enjoyment for children as they can play hundreds and thousands of games. Furthermore, it offers some other advantages like increasing the working capacity, organizing the data precisely, speeding up the task consistently, helps in better communication, etc.

But the children are in the phase of life where they are supposed to be self-dependent and most importantly

they should be healthy so that they can perform well in studies but computers are making them rely on the internet for every task. So, along with several advantages computers have many disadvantages which outweigh the advantages.

In conclusion, I would say that playing too many games on computers is making the children addicted which can result in making them lethargic, procastinating and lacking in learning skills. Therefore, I recommend considering all these reasons before making a choice.