Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People may often debate this argument. It is not easy to agree or disagree with this statement without considering the good reasons for the choice. Many people may claim that budget in a college or university is allocated for classes and libraries; others may say that sports and social activities should get equal financial aid. However, I am of the opinion that we should put emphasis equally on sports and social activities at universities and colleges as sports and social activities are quite important for the overall development of a student. My decision is based on the following reasons.

First of all, sports take care of student's health to keep their body hale and healthy. They cut body fat and delay the aging process. Sports also streamlines the lifestyle of students and is conducive for balancing physical and mental development. In addition, students can attain a sturdy and muscular physique. My own life is a compelling example of this when I was a university student I was spending most of my time in the library searching books and reading which was very stressful and was making me lethargic and bulky. Meanwhile one of my professors suggested me take part in sports events going on in the university. I took part in sports events and start feeling a lot better, active, and enthusiastic.

Secondly, another significant advantage of university sports is competition among colleges to achieve success. This positive spirit will help students accomplish their goals in future careers with ease. That is to say that they can learn how to strive for a common goal. For example, a successful manager needs to know how to encourage strong team bonds to achieve a goal. In this case, the experience of sports can play a vital role. Likewise, academic activities and social activities complement each other and foster a well-rounded, socially skilled student. Through social activities, students can boost their interpersonal skills, can stretch network, and make new friends. Social activities gift the opportunity to exercise and develop the important skills used in the workplace such as communication, problem-solving, project planning, teamwork, task management, and so forth. So, social activities in universities and colleges will pay off later in life.

Furthermore, to uphold my claim and make it more valid, I will consider the counter-argument too, and then refute it. So, no one can deny that academic activities are always crucial as a lot of people want to learn more knowledge to improve themselves in university or college, then they can have specific skills to find a good job, and also some people said studying is an only way to change your life. The education does not just help students to learn knowledge from textbooks, especially in university and college. Education is helping students to develop greatly in every way. Follow this point, university and college also need to focus on student’s health, we don’t want students to get sick easily and just learn knowledge.

In a nutshell, academic activities are always crucial but sports and social activities on the other hand play a vital role in molding the characters of students. From what explained above, we can draw the conclusion that sports and social activities should get the same budget.