Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Practice and hard work are more important to an athlete's success than natural ability and talent. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that an athlete’s success is determined by their practice and hard work, while others are of the opinion that those who have a natural ability and talent for sports are more successful. While I believe that having an innate athletic talent gives you an advantage over others, this talent only remains a potential until it is honed through hard work and training.

People with inborn talent for sports usually wish to be professional athletes later on in their lives. For example, sport prodigies can be identified in their school years if they perform exceptionally well in their physical education classes. While they may be good at sports, they can only do well up to a certain point. In order to improve from this point onward, they need to be encouraged to practice and work hard. This is also the reason why we see professional athletes training a great deal. While they may be doing the best in their field, they need to practice in order to polish their skills.

While those with inherent athletic abilities may have an advantageous position, this does not mean that those who do not have a natural talent cannot succeed in sports. They may require more practice than those who are naturally talented, but it is not impossible to succeed in their endeavors. We hear so many stories about people who lacked the ability, motivation or encouragement to take part in sports, but through their hard work and perseverance, they made it. My father is a perfect example for this. When he was young, he was so weak that people never thought he could be athletic. In fact, whenever he went to the gym and tried to work out, people would laugh at him. This did not demotivate him, instead he persisted, and after a few years, the same people who would laugh at him would admire him and ask him for advice concerning exercise.

In short, natural talent and abilities can give you an upper hand, but no one can go farther in any field without working hard and practicing. Both groups of people, those who are naturally athletic and those who are not, need to train in order to refine their skills. As long as you work hard and do not give up, you will be able to succeed.