many people believe that greed, or the desire to have more wealth than other people have, is a bad characteristic; people who are greedy are often considered selfish or unkind. However, some people argue that greed is actually a good characteristic for a person to have because greedy people will work harder than others to become successful. Do you believe that greed can be a good characteristic? why or why not? Use specific reason to support your answer.

The part that greed, or the desire to have more money than others, plays in the success of a person is a controversial topic. While some people believe that this behavior leads to success as it encourages them to work hard, I beg to differ. Not only is this behavior deemed selfish and unkind by others, it can be harmful to the avaricious person as well.

First of all, we need to understand what success is, as the definition of success is very subjective. I believe that success is being happy, having enough and being safe. However, for someone else,success is measured by how much money they have. These people may find that greed would lead them to victory as it drives them to work hard.

People who have a high desire for materialistic gains are thought to be selfish. They are willing to do anything as long as they can profit from it. For example, a famous person may promote or sell potentially dangerous merchandise if they are able to receive a large sum of money from it. First of all, this is unethical as the lives of thousands of people are put at risk. Secondly, if this product is found to be harmful, the seller’s or promoter’s reputation is tarnished. This sabotages their success and has an even worse effect on the future.

In short, the desire to have money is not bad. Only when it turns into unhealthy obsession or a competition among people can it actually be dangerous, both to us and the people around us. Therefore, I believe that success should not be quantified by how much money one has, rather one should decide if they are successful depending on how happy they are.