Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads,so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technology thrives quickly in the last few decades. The internet, the most historical technology, changes people's lifestyle so dramatically that a part of the public regard it as a living necessary in the modern society and argue that the governments should allocate budget to make the internet free for everyone. From my perspective, it is hard to achieve and its disadvantage outweighs the benefit.

If you take the limitation of national budget in the concern, you will realize that the large cost to achieve the free access to internet hinders the construction of the infrastructures. The basis of life covers fresh air, clean water and living space. In many countries, the citizens suffer from starving, cold weather and diseases due to polluted water and air. Their physical healthy are in danger. In this case, it is far from reality to talk about free internet since it won't save the needy from death. The construction of the infrastructures including public transportation and sewage purification should be put on the top agenda instead of the internet access. The developed public transportation result in less private vehicles which emit carbon dioxide and toxic gas into the atmosphere while the sewage purification factories provide relatively clean water to wash objects.

Moreover, the internet is a large business that could benefit both the business and the people. If the government make it free to everyone, it will eventually loss many financial incomes. Companies making money by providing internet connection could contribute to wealth distribution. The tax paid to the government could be used to improve the life standard of the needy. In addition, the monopoly market on internet built by the government may lead to information supervision and speech censorship. Everything the citizens put online is under the eye of the government since the free internet connection is provided by the government. It is inevitable to leak the datas. Even if the government promises not to oversee the data transformed on the internet, the citizens still worry that they may receive penalties for their complains on the government.

In summary, the free internet does not worth the cost that the government need to invest. It not only damages the development of other truly living necessary equipments but also stimulates public worry on liberty of speech.