Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, a lot of people believe that having access to the Internet is an essential need for all. Not only many actions require having internet access, but also the Internet has made doing a lot of tasks more straightforward than their previous ways. However, in the matter of governments providing free Internet for people, I'm afraid I have to disagree.

I believe that governments have to provide the required infrastructure for access to the Internet for free, not the service itself. For instance, as mentioned in the passage, governments usually do not charge the citizens for the built roads. However, this does not mean that transportation services are provided free of charge, too. There is a cost for every mode of transportation that is available to people. Similarly, after delivering the infrastructure to people, it is more than fair for the authorities to charge their users for their services. That is the main reason for me to disagree with free Internet access.

Also, I think that the money spent on providing free Internet access can instead be used to provide more vital needs. There are far more critical needs in some people's lives. That money can definitely be of better use in that needs. For example, there are still many areas that do not have access to fresh water, electricity, and gas in my country. Living without having electricity at night or freshwater to drink at will, can be much more frustrating than not having the Internet. Therefore I believe everyone agrees that providing those needs is more important. Also, the money can be used for reinforcing already existing infrastructures in major and small cities. Therefore they will be more resilient to natural disasters and failures. That is why I disagree with offering Internet access at no cost.

As mentioned in the previous parts, having free Internet access is a very much appreciated privilege. However, there is no sensible reason to provide it at no cost because no other primary service is provided in that manner. But I believe all governments should try to work in that direction and make it happen as soon as possible.