Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the acceleration of our social development, advancement in technology provides modern people with a more convenient life. Recently, a heated argument on whether the government should guarantee their citizen's internet access regardless of the cost. Some believe that Internet access is as important as other public facilities, such as building roads. While others hold that it's not possible and too expensive to provide Internet to people living in remote areas. From my point of view, I am inclined to the latter one as far as effective, and the economy is concerned.

First, people without Internet access usually living in remote and poor areas, the primary step of the government to do to improve their lives is to help them overcome poverty. The urgent need for people under this circumstance is absolutely no Internet access. According to the psychologist Abraham Maslow's theory of hierarchy of need, people’s desires are driven by the basic need before coming to high needs. In the pyramid in which the need is displayed, the fundamental need of them is the need for food, shelter, and clear water rather than other surfing on the Internet. It’s the government’s responsibility to guarantee its citizens a decent life. Therefore, the government should increase the income of the people. Build fundamental public facilities in this area, such as flat roads, electricity networks, and public hospitals.

Second, it’s totally unaffordable for the government to build signal towers to cover all the people. This is because building and maintaining network access is expensive, for example, 5G equipment costs hundreds of thousands of dollars. Only a few people living the remote areas thus the heavy cost of the equipment indicates the cost of accessing networks will be skyrocket. Otherwise, it is impossible for the government to cover their cost. Furthermore, if they seek subsidy from the government fund since the limited number of people in remote areas means that their voice is pretty low in the parliament. Therefore, it’s hard for them to acquire money from the government budget. Even if they are managed to persuade the government, with the unbalanced nature of population distribution in a country, a large proposition of population is centralized in big cities, urban citizens will definitely veto this proposal and the government will be forced to cut the fund.

To sum up, I believe my attitude towards the debate on whether to provide all people with Internet access is clearly elaborated by the examples and ideas presented above.