Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Scientists should be responsible for the negative effects of their discoveries.

It's established beyond doubt that scientists greatly improve our everyday life through their discoveries and invention. Yet we cannot dismiss the fact that scientific discoveries have also caused disasters in human history, especially the escalation of the scale of warfare. Thus, it may seem sensible for some people to hold the view that scientists should be held responsible for the negative consequences of their findings. Nevertheless, such viewpoint suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as I am concerned, scientists should not take the responsibility of the negative results of their invention.

First and foremost, it is not the inventors or their inventions, but the users who utilize the discoveries in a wrong way that should be to blame for the harmful effects. In other words, by no means can scientists predict if their discoveries will be used for righteous or evil purpose, and not to mention being responsible for the potential unfavorable outcomes. The invention of nuclear power is an excellent case in point - nuclear energy is clean and powerful and can be used as a perfect substitute for fossil fuels which is detrimental for our health and environment, while a nuclear weapon has the potential to annihilate our planet with top efficiency. Therefore, it is not fair not to punish the users who employ nuclear power in a war but the inventors of a competitive energy source.

Furthermore, the nature of science is full of uncertainty and challenges, and the scientists need a free and encouraging atmosphere to promote their research more effectively without worrying about unpredictable accusations. To be more specific, scientists should not waste the time worrying about the negative impacts but to focus on their own research topic and try the best to produce some inventions that can greatly promote the advancement of our society. Besides, even if a malicious usage of certain discoveries occurs, such employment can be documented and forbidden.

Nevertheless, some might claim that mankind will suffer from enormous threats if scientists are not guilty of the unfavorable impacts of their discoveries. However, it is the legislators' task to launch governmental or institutional regulations to track the progress of the scientific work and eliminate potential threats, creating more welfare for mankind.

While one sees a zero and another sees a circle, I strongly believe that scientists should be able to conduct their research freely.