Do you agree or disagree with the following statement : Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Currently, with the burgeoning advancement of technology, there is an increasing variety of media emerging in society. Based on the expansion of media, some individuals cast doubts on the accuracy of news displayed/presented in these media and they reckon that the erroneous information propagated/disseminated in the platform gives rise to a bunch of social problems. Personally speaking, I concur with this opinion and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To begin with, the newly-emerging media are not qualified by the authority in accordance with any laws related to the qualification of media, thus a bunch of media is run by cynical individuals and some of them even lack in the rudimentary conditions to maintain the well-being of amassing news, who have the propensity to distribute false information or standpoints to misguide the public. Meanwhile, with the influx of the information, multiple traditional media often initiate to deliver news without qualifying its sources, which exacerbates the problem of fake news. The research conducted to evaluate the media’ attitudes toward the fake news demonstrates that some media show no concern for their sources of news. They harbor the idea that they do not need to take on the responsibility of delivering the truth and what matters first is how many citizens may be appealed by their exaggerated news or how much income they can earn. The research absolutely indicates that there is an apparent propensity of media’ preference for money, instead of the responsibility, existing in the domain of media.

What’s more, the ever-rising trend of fake news is likely to exert detrimental effects on the well-being of the whole society. What reflected by the fake news is wholly erroneous and even misguides the citizens into the wrong paths/makes citizens go astray. Worse still, the society suffers from the fake news generated by the media for fear of the information conveyed by the fake news. For instance, a few months ago, a man called the police department in the capital airport and told the officers there that he installed some explosive substance on specific planes. After that, a bunch of media begun to hype this affair. Some of them even stated that the security in the capital airport cannot prevent the terrorists from generating attacks, which gave rise the panic of the citizens living in Beijing and did harm to the airport’s reputation. Consequently, this affair was verified to be fabled. This example suggests that what the media hype results in is the disorder of social sequence.

Admittedly, not all the news transferred on the Internet is fake and some media with the sense of responsibility keep qualifying the reliable sources of news. Nevertheless, the rapid expansion of fake news cannot be ignored due to its adverse effects it imposes on the society.

In a nutshell, the emerging media do pay less attention to their accuracy of news due to the dearth of qualification procedures and the sense of conscious, which possibly results in the panic of the whole society.