it is better to relax by reading a book or watching a movie than doing physical exercise

Currently, the society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, hence the citizens are offered with multiple choices of entertainment or approaches to relax, like reading a book, watching a movie or doing physical exercise. A myriad of individuals reckon that reading a book or watching a movie is a better option, while others prefer the alternative of doing sports. Personally speaking, doing exercise is a terrific option and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To begin with, there is an increasing number of citizens leading a sedentary life, which drives up the morbidity of a bunch of diseases intertwined with the lifestyle, especially depression caused by the great pressure from the daily grind. Under the irreversible propensity of the possibility of having fatal diseases, doing regular physical exercise are conducive to tackle the issue from its roots. To be more specific, individuals are sedentary or even isolated from the outside environment, which impedes them from relieving their stress with an appropriate outlet. However, doing physical, as an approach to relieve pressure, is capable of rejuvenating individuals from the overwhelmed pressure generated in the sedentary and stressful works. The research conducted to evaluate the employees’ preference on the approaches of relaxation indicates that they are more interested in doing exercise due to its effect both in relieving pressure and keeping healthy. Hence, factoring the sedentary lifestyle into consideration, doing exercise is beneficial for citizens to rejuvenate themselves.

What’s more, it is also cost-effective to do sports. With the ever-rising fund distributed to develop the infrastructures, there is an increasing number of gym emerging in some metropolises, which are usually without charge. Hence, individuals choosing to rejuvenate themselves in the newly-emerging gyms can get rid of their daily grind and refresh themselves by stretching their arms and legs without any extra expense. For instance, one of my best friends, Rebecca is fond of going to the public gym to do exercise, where she can not only relieve her burden by stretching out but also share her annoyance with her friends hanged out with her. Consequently, as the saying goes, a problem shared is a problem halved, Rebecca is not plagued with her stress after work out in the gym. This example conveys the idea that doing exercise can effectively address the baffling problem of stress with an extremely low charge.

Admittedly, reading a book or watching a movie has a couple of merits. For instance, reading the novel stories involved in a book can uplift our mood, or the romantic plots displayed in the movie probably inspire us to pursue a new relationship. Nevertheless, these kinds of solution cannot enable us to break the cycle of the sedentary life and what the ramification they are likely to lead is cervical disease. Meanwhile, since these two solutions are based on fabled stories, their effect of relieving pressure is not long-lasting and reliable.

In a nutshell, weighing the pros and cons, it is a terrific approach to do exercise instead of reading or watching a movie, since doing exercise gains a competitive edge over its double effect and cost/gains the upper hand due to its double effect and cost.