Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The behavior demonstrated by the students are greatly impacted by the people surrounding them in their day-day life. In general, a student tends to spend his/her most of the time in the school where they are surrounded by many different people, but most of the time by teachers and their colleagues. Although some may argue that a student spends most of their time with friends and gets influenced in the process, I strongly believe that major influence on the students is because of their teachers who guide them during their learning process.

The foremost reason why I am in support of the argument is: the students consciously or subconsciously imitate their senior members as compared to their friends. For the supporting example, one needs a look no further than my school experience. While we (me and my class friends) were playing football in our sports class with the teacher on the field, two of the teammates unusually collided with each other resulting in a serious injury to one of them. At that instance, no one approached the injured student due to fear or sudden harsh impact on them. However, within a quick time, the sports teacher (who was on the field) rushed to the student with the first-aid kit. Later, he advised students to help their teammates as soon as possible in such situations. A month later, a similar incident happened in the field, and, guess what, this time every student immediately went after the students and started the first aid treatment. Thus, it can be easily perceived that students were strongly influenced by the teacher's deeds and imitated them in similar future events.

Another subtle reason that strengthens my claim is that students idolize teachers as their role models and devote themselves to developing like them. Some students want to reflect like/her teacher in terms of career making him/passionate about their future. The evident example of this particular claim is my career itself. During my undergraduate study in civil engineering (branch of engineering that deals with design and analysis of infrastructures), I came across my reinforced concrete design subject teacher, namely Dr. Dipendra Gautam. He is a popular figure in the civil engineering field in Nepal due to his research contributions, specifically in the field of structural engineering--the civil engineering branch that deals with structures. I went through his research papers accessing them from the laboratory and was enticed by his motive of the work to impact the lives of the people through engineering. Thus, I chose to direct my career in the field of structural engineering and invested my time in the subjects related to it. After its completion, I joined a research lab and learned a lot about structural engineering. Now, I recently assisted earthquake-resistant housing constructions in one of the rural communities of Nepal which was devastated by the earthquake. It instilled a great measure of contention inside me. Had I never idolized him and dedicated time in the particular area, I would never have been able to achieve that feat.

Taking account of the above-mentioned reasons, the teachers greatly impact students' behavior and the way they think since they are role models for them and feel secure to share their ideas.