Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students are more interested in politics than they were in the past

Government and politics impact nearly every aspect of our lives, so getting involved cannot be avoided. Political participation varies among people, dependent on how much they care about it. As an important community, students make the most contribution to politics. However, I think students are less interested in politics now than in the past.

To begin with, nowadays, students have lesser political information, which demonstrates that they are not as concerned about these subjects as those in the past. As an example, I watched a drama series based on a true story showing a past period in Iran named "Dar Chashm-e-Baad," in which students participated in political meetings and passionately expressed their ideas about different reigns' political tendencies. They appeared dramatically acquainted with famous political characters as well as their theories around the world and discussed their manifest in the class. In contrast, my friends and I do not know many well-known governmental people worldwide and even in our country because we are not into it. I typically do not know who Iran's Petroleum Minister is and what is happening in Palestine. Thus, I think the previous generation of students were more interested in these matters.

Secondly, there were no social media in the past to reflect the students' attitudes making us think that previous generations were less interested in politics than now while they were not. All of the students are active on at least one social media, including Twitter, Instagram, etc., and they can spread their political thoughts through posts, vlogs, stories, and so on. For instance, I follow approximately 200 accounts on Twitter, mostly students, who often propose their political ideas in their tweets. Since the life span of Instagram and Twitter is not more than 15 years at most, if I lived in the past, I probably would not know anything about these 200 individuals' political opinions. As I mentioned, it leads to a wrong consideration of interests.

In conclusion, I feel in situations where the students are not much concerned about governmental policies nor are informed these days, the power of social platforms makes us have an inaccurate interpretation of how much students tend to political matters now compared to the past students.