Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education plays a pivotal role in engendering civilized citizens in any country. Although, imparting education to young is important but benefits from university education such as better job opportunities, contribution in economic growth of the society cannot be evaded. Therefore, I believe that government should not ignore universities in terms of funding. I will explore the reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, higher level education provides better job opportunities to the students. By pursuing major in subject of interest, people can earn their livelihood. Because, employers prefer person having university degree for certain jobs along with experience. For example, when I completed my high school and went for job interviews, the job providers had strictly told me to earn university degree to get higher paying jobs. Ultimately, I was compelled to go for higher studies. Thus, university education is of utmost importance, if a person wants to grab high paying job with benefits.

Secondly, well-educated citizens will assist in the economic growth of the nation. After getting university degree many students prefer to run their own business, which will in turn contribute in the economic development of the country. For instance, one of my friends after graduating started his own law firm is now contributing to the government in terms of taxes. In this way, government funding for university education will ultimately come back to the government's deposit. This is the reason, why university education is vital.

Finally, university education shapes the overall personality of graduates. Different programs like debates, concerts, inter- university competitions, seminars and group discussions collectively mold students’ way of thinking. For example, a graduate will be more confident with an effective communicational and analytical skills as compared to a high school student. Consequently, this will lead to productive workforce in future.

In conclusion, government should think from broader perspective and focus upon being resourceful to university education, which will provide fruitful returns within a span of time.