Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, a heated top about teacheres is being discussed. Some people assert that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays, while others don't. From my perspective, I support that teachers are equally treated and valued, whenver in the past or nowadays. The reasons are listed as follows.

First and foremost, today teachers are more and more capable and knowledgable than before. In the contemporary society, it is not big news that some elite doctors graduated from top universities are recruited as teachers in middle schools or even primary schools. In some high schools, many advanced courses that exist in universities are set for students. These elite teachers directly impart the state-of-the-art knowledge to these young students. Therefore, students get more access to avant-garde breakthroughs in the academic fields, which will reinforce their skills and broad their horizons. Nowadays teachers make equal contributions to the knowledge education of teenagers, thus their feats should never be overlooked.

Besides imparting knowledge, a more significant function of teachers is educating. Nowadays with the development of technology, students are more accessible to the lure and distraction from anywhere. For example, there is a trend that students in high school play with smart phones and browse TikTok in the class, which is obviously forbidden. Some students even browse websites full of fake news and extreme thoughts.Confronted with such situations, teachers deserve more compliments and extolment if they guide the students to behave well and concentrate on courses in time. It is their responsibility to help teenagers shape values and avoid traps in the society. Teachers are more and more responsible for educating and what they contribute to the growth of youth can hardly be overemphasized.

From what has been talked above, I firmly support the view that teachers are equally appreciated and valued by society whenever in the past or nowdays. Their responsibility of imparting knowledge and educating young people deserve applauds from everyone.