: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the advent of civilization, human beings have perpetually been seeking the way to better communication. They have made a constant effort to convey their meanings and emotions in a more efficient, clear fashion. Thus, being literate--in the past--or generally educated, nowadays, is of huge significance, so is being a teacher. Many people may hold the view that teachers were more prestigious years ago in comparison with how valued they are today, but contrary to this predominant view, I believe teachers, nowadays, are highly revered. I have quite a few conspicuous reasons to elucidate my perspective among which more appreciation toward education and the more complex role of teachers are worthwhile to mention in details.

TO begin with, the most noteworthy reason that no one can cast a shadow of doubt on has to do with the more appreciation towards education in the contemporary world. In the past, people earn a living mainly by agriculture, making objects out of wood or metal, and other types of work not needing being literate. Nonetheless, since the advent of computers, the Internet, and a wide range of new technologies, education has played a more noteworthy role in any individual's future, and the definition of literacy has changed totally. To be able to make a reasonable amount of money, not just make ends meet, one is supposed to be, for instance, computer literate rather than just being able to read or write. Due to the fact that people know they need many things to learn to guarantee a bright future ahead of them, they appreciate education as well as teachers much more compared to the past. It's like a domino, the better a teacher conveys a lesson, the easier one understands, and the better he or she learns, the more chances they have to get into a high-quality university and to get a high-paid job, so teachers are more admired by societies and people.

More important, it is axiomatic that teachers' role has been dramatically complicating in today's world. They teach students not only reading, writing, literature, mathematics and to name but a few, but also social conduct, discipline, teamwork, and many priceless matters as to their future personal and social life. In addition, recently, families have been taking more and more considerations into account as to the improvement of their children. They know teachers have a significant impact on their children so much so that may lead them to a promising future or destroy their future, so it is conspicuous that parents admired and care more about teachers compared to how much they used to do. To clarify this point, there is a short, yet worthwhile quote about how important teachers are in a society that says, "A doctor's mistake is buried in the soil, while a teacher's mistake lives on."

To sum up, the influence of teachers on one's life is undeniable, and, in my opinion, their role has recently become much more complex as well as valuable. A deep understanding of the importance of education among people and the extent to which parents care about their children's personality and their improvement lead a society to regard being a teacher as one of the most respectable jobs. I recommend all the people love and revere their teachers and whoever teaches them anything, since one can compensate for their teaching with nothing.