Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the extreme changes in the history of education is the position and social class of the teachers. From my point of view, the value of their positions has declined by some reasons as follows: Education level of the society, Modern cultural differences compare in contrast to the past and the role of the advent and thriving of the technology.

Centuries ago, most of the society was illiterate and their jobs and the amount of their income were not interconnected. People did not need to be highly educated to get a job and a position with a high salary. Therefore, the social class of literate people was deferential and they were highly respected and admired. One of the most notable groups of these educated people were teachers who not only were well informed themselves, but they were teaching their students as well. However, today due to the important correlation between wage and education most of the society is literate and even in some countries most of the people hold certification from universities and studied in secondary education. The main conclusion to be drawn is that one downside of a highly educated culture is that teachers lost an enormous amount of respect and value.

Besides, the culture of honorifics and reverence has gone through an extreme change. The general common ground is that the definer of a social class is not based on the thing that you do anymore, but it is in proportion to the wage which you have. For instance, I remember my grandfather used to teach the students of seven to twelve years old when he was living in the country. Thus the amount of revere that people showed him even in the last years of his life which he did not teach anymore was the evidence of his social class in the past years due to being a teacher.

Last but not least, there is a widely held view that the value of what people do is based on the uniqueness of what they are doing. If I could do a thing that nobody else can do, I would be appreciated because of the value which I add to society. The advent of technology and its developments gave rise to the use of more sources on different aspects of life. One important category is education. Every day there is a new fledgling application introduced to help education, a website to be an additional source for education or online courses that provide a comprehensive course with all the details. Therefore the uniqueness of the teacher's job is declined and they are less appreciated.

To sum up, the drawbacks of the help of the technology and a drop in teachers' job's uniqueness, the altered culture of reverence and a higher educated society lead to a major decline in teacher's position in the social class of their society. In conclusion, their job could face dramatic changes and get in danger.