Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people doubt that nowadays, teachers are not as appreciated as in the past by society. They say that people no longer admire teachers. But I disagree with them. I believe that teachers are still appreciated by both students and the general public.

First, I want to say that students are still appreciating their teachers. As long as you are a good teacher, your students will like you no matter when. Just take my mother as an example, she is a physics teacher in a senior high school in my hometown. We all know that physics is a hard subject, and is hard for many students. But my mother makes her classes as attractive as possible. For example, she usually does some interesting experiments with her students to help them focus on the class. When she shows those wonderful things to her students, all of them can feel the beauty of physics that lies behind the boring formulas. And then she will explain why we can do those experiments and tell students the principle of those experiments. After these wonderful shows, none of her students can forget about the knowledge behind the experiments. In this case, her students usually get good grades and become experts in physics. So her students appreciate her a lot, and during teachers' days, she can get lots of gifts from her students.

Besides, teachers are also appreciated by the general public nowadays too. People always admire those teachers with great knowledge. My senior high school is one of the top high schools in my hometown, and our teachers have both great knowledge to teach students and great patience to help students whenever they need it. Almost all of the students who graduate from my senior high school can enter a good university. Our English teacher once told us a story. She said that one day when she took a taxi car to our senior high, she told the driver that she is an English teacher in our senior high by accident. Suddenly, the driver shows great admiration for her and wants to give her a drive for free. She was surprised, and at that time she was so proud of being a teacher. Through this story, I believe that the general public is still appreciating teachers nowadays.

From the stories I just show, it's easy to say that people are still admiring teachers. And of course, if you are a bad teacher, no one appreciates you either nowadays or in the past. But as long as you are a good teacher, people always admire you. They will always appreciate you for your great work to offer your students great knowledge and help the world become a better place.