Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people used to think teachers are highly respected in the society, because they teach children knowledge and help them to become a better people. However, I agree that nowadays teachers are not appreciated and valued by the society than past because the fast changing technology changes the world. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, nowadays students usually have electronic devices which help them to get information very fast and quickly, so instead of learning from teaches, they will search information online. What is more, modern world changes so fast that some teachers are not ready to keep the pace with new knowledge or technology. Therefore, students might prefer to learn knowledge from online courses. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in college, I took an online marketing course and our professor not only had no real experiences but also taught us success marketing cases five years ago, which the information was useless and outdated. As a result, we started to find the newest marketing cases on the Internet and took another online marketing course to learn the knowledge from teachers who had real experiences. That is why teachers are not be highly valued as the past, because some of them are outdated and students can directly learn on the Internet.

Furthermore, teachers might have few knowledge or skills to help students. Some professors have highly diploma, after getting PhD degrees, they directly come to college to be professors, but they don't really work in the business. Therefore, they do not know how to help students to find a job or even write a resume. For example, when I graduated form college, I needed to find a job and turned to a professor for help, but she didn't have any working experiences except being a professor. As a consequence, she had no ability to help me, so eventually I turned to find my parents and friends who had working experiences for help.

In conclusion, I agree that teachers now are not appreciated and valued by society than before. This is because they are outdated and students can find information online easily.