do you agree or disagree with the following statement television advertisement directed toward young children should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Because of technological advances, televisions are widespread for most families. Since children spend more time watching TV than the older generations could not have afforded to have TVs in their homes during their childhoods, televisions have become more influential in children’s life. Considering the harmful impacts of television advertisements on children, I agree with the statement that television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

First, young children are more vulnerable to the images shown in TVs because they cannot distinguish what’s real or not. The advertisements often exarate the positive sides of products by concealing the side effects. For example, fast foods were advertised to be appealing to young children while they can harm their healthy eating habits. Because young children do not have enough knowledge and experience to evaluate the quality of products, they tend to trust the advertisements without considering the negative aspects of the products.

Second, the advertisements could create tension in families and friends. For instance, influenced by the advertisements of toys, young children will ask parents for buying the products. If the adults don’t let them have the toys, the children would have a repulsive feeling toward the adults. The children might even be excluded by their friends who play with the toys. However, in case the adults give everything that children find appealing in television advertisements, the children will become indulged, which develops peevish personalities that would hardly be fixed.

Despite those drawbacks, young children can benefit from TV advertisements that do not directly target the children. TV commercials include creative descriptions of products that trigger their curiosities. For example, by watching the commercials of travel companies, children can gain ideas about different places and cultures in the world. Some advertisements involve rhythmical dances and catchy music, which inspire children to imitate the choreographies and to sing after the songs. Likewise, advertisements can be more enjoyable for young children as long as the advertisements are not designed to target the vulnerable age group.

In conclusion, I agree that television advertisements should not focus on young children because of the harmful impacts on their healthy development and relationship with others.