Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their family for a longer time. Which of these solutions do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I think young adults should experience living independently as soon as they’re old enough because children tend to overlook the importance of family within the comfort zone where they are protected by parents. I believe living away from parents can lead to three benefits for children and their families: helping children to become more independent, to be more supportive of others, and to strengthen family bonds.

First, living independently allows young adults to become more independent and self-reliant through experiencing hardships without relying on their parents’ supports. Once young adults start living away from their parents, young people need to take care of themselves by doing housework as well as working. They can learn not only how to manage their time but also how to save money to support their living by making decisions on their own. Those life skills are not usually taught in schools, and they need to learn through living outside of their comfort zones.

Second, young adults who started living independently are more likely to realize how much they’ve been dependent on their parents, which inspires them to be more appreciative and supportive of their family. From my experience, I’ve never lived away from my parents until I went to college. I started to live in the dorm, and the new environment forced me to realize I had taken granted for my parents’ support. I came to understand that my mom’s cooked meal was the best since I had only options to eat at my school’s cafeteria or to cook by myself. Therefore, I asked my mom to teach me how to cook during the summer, and started to help my mom with housework.

Third, the family bonds will be stronger by the young adults who become more supportive of their family. Young adults can be more mature and supportive of their families after they experienced financial difficulties and hardships in their independent livings. The sense of gratitude for their parents leads young adults to contribute to their families. Through repaying the gratitude that parents have worked hard to raise them, young adults can form stronger bonds with their families.

In conclusion, I think living independently enables young adults to grow and to build stronger connections with the family. The family should be supportive of each other, and I believe the independent living of young adults can be a good opportunity to teach them valuable lessons for creating a harmonious relationship in the family.