Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Television has destroyed communication among friends and family”

More than 150 years people watch television without knowing its advantages and disadvantages. Parents allow their two years old children to watch television while it has a lot of negative effects. Television destroys communication because it does not allow people to talk with each other or go to parks and other amusement centers and commune about their lives. Also television provides a lot of different programs for different ages so every member of families watches specific movies and programs while others do not accompany him. On the other hand, most of the movies inspire us that we are not good enough and our lives are not interesting then indirectly motivate us to divorce or feel depressed.

First of all, house is a warm place to rest after a difficult day and communicate with our families. When all members of a family watch television instead of talking about their problems and drinking coffee, they feel they are alone and nobody care about them. For example, when I was at high school, I had a lot of problems with my physics teacher and she annoyed me a lot. Our family used to talk every evening about our lives and hardships while we were drinking tea or eating a slice of cake. After talking with my mother and listening her advises, I felt my parents support me and nothing can bother me. If we spent our time on watching movies, I felt that nobody likes me and my parents do not know my worrisome. This experience taught me families’ relationships should not replace with television.

Moreover, television provides variety programs for different people and ages. When children watches movies, their mothers are in kitchen and fathers are in their own rooms. For instance, one of my friends told me that her father likes watching soccer more than her and she cannot talk with him about her difficulties. She failed two courses that semester because she was depressed. Therefore, television causes a giant invisible wall between parents and children.

Furthermore, most of movies try to show us perfect lives and people. When men watch famous and beautiful women as spouse in movies, they feel that their wives are not pretty. On the other hand, women see handsome husbands who are very rich and give their wives expensive gifts so they feel their husbands do not pay attention to them. The rate of divorce is significantly high in families who watch television more than two hours per day compared to families who watches less than five hours per week. So, television destroy relationships between spouses unconsciously.

All in a word, television has destroyed communication among friends and families because they cannot find proper time to talk about their lives. Television shows us ideal lives then discourages us to live with our spouses anymore. Since there are a lot of different movies for people, even if one member of the family watches TV, it harms the whole family. I recommend families to avoid television and spend time together.