Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? These days, children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports. However, they should be given more time to do whatever they want.

Currently, there is a widespread believe that students should be allow to spend more time to the things they really want. From my perspective, I believe that students indeed need to spend time for themselves.

First, people need more skills or things to handle different situations in the future. The things we need is not only just what people study at school. There are a lot of things study or practice to be hobbies or interests in our daily life can supply many different helps when we work. For instance, hobbies, like music instrument, sports or cooking, can enrich people’s daily life. People always encounter some frustrations, which may disturb people’s mood and work condition. After that, people need some way to distribute their attention or try to restore the mood. Meantime, excellent cooking is able to allow people eat healthy, delicious and inexpensive food at home by themselves. Those all people can not cultivate or study at school. Thereby, people should get more time to their interest or hobbies.

Second, spending time on other things can reduce people’s pressure of study and competition. Nowadays, studying more and more subjects produce increasingly more pressure for students. Meantime, the increasing of peers also stress people by competition. Undertaking huge pressure for long time may damage people’s mental health and incur physiologic sick. However, taking some time for their hobbies can effectively reduce pressure. This point can be perfectly illustrated with a example about my friend, Aron. He is a high achieving student, which makes him to get a very good but competitive high-school. They usually only have 7 days rest at winter-vacation and there are 70 percent students depend on score which is higher than him to enter this high school. Thus he always undertakes much pressure and get depression. After that, he take a half year long break to restore and try to study guitar. When he cures, he back to school and continue to fight for his dream university. But the difference is he will play guitar when he feel frustrate or fatigue. Bright music can make him feeling better.

I am not saying people should spend all time to their hobbies. Study also is a process which needs a lot of time to stimulate. However, moderate break for student is absolutely good for students mental, physiologic health and their future. On balance, people should be allow to take some time for themselves.